Recent Posts
- Do Your Duty For Road Construction
- Acronyms and Alligator Alley
- Thousands Participate in Georgia Branch, AGC Safety Stand Down
- Want To Lease An Interstate?
- By The Numbers: A Look At Road Conditions And Cost-Effectiveness
- So How's Business?
- Be Careful Out There
- Exploring 60 Years Of Lifting
- Watch Your Stuff!
- Earn Recognition For Your Work Zone Safety Efforts
Recent Comments
- PemiRobin on Caveat Contractors -- Scam Alert!
Most Commented On
Archives
Blog
Caveat Contractors -- Scam Alert!
June 9, 2008
The key is the “provide your banking info” part – that’s what the bad guys want to get – and now a variation of it has come to construction too.
According to the U.S. Department of Transportation, contractors and potential DOT contractors have been receiving emails that appear to be from the government requesting that the contractors register as a “prospective contractor for procurements issued by the U.S. Department of Transportation” by submitting banking info on a form entitled “Authorization to release financial information.” These emails, which do look very official and which are signed by a “senior procurement officer,” seem to have been appearing since December of 2005.
But it’s a scam.
“Please be aware that DOT does not require any financial information to be submitted in order to be eligible for procurement,” a recent (and real) communiqué from DOT notes. The release adds, “Please DO NOT complete the release form which is attached to the letter and DO NOT release any information to the facsimile number cited in the letter.”
If you get one, let the official folks know. The Department of Transportation Office of the Inspector General Hotline number is 800-424-9071.
Posted by Steve Hudson on June 9, 2008 | Comments (1)
In response to: Caveat Contractors -- Scam Alert!
PemiRobin commented:
Have you heard of an agent for a foreign buyer contacting a construction co. with equipment listed for sale and asking immediately for banking information? Is there ANY POSSIBLE way this could be legit? I've cut & pasted the latest e-mail below:"Thank you Jason for your prompt reply. The fact is the Company is truly in need of the New Holland 75B Backhoe urgently and the funds for it are already released. I do trust your words that the New Holland 75B Backhoe is in good shape. We would do the final bill of sale and the shiment would be carried out by our agent once we get confirmation from you that the money has been paid into the account. We would require the following information to enable us conclde the transfer of funds to you. NAME OF BANK ADDRESS OF BANK NAME OF ACCOUNT / BENEFICARY ROUTINE NUMBER ACCOUNT NUMBER ASKING PRICE Hope to hear from you and look forward to a conclusion on this deal Regards Richard Smart" Return e-mail is @Yahoo.com Thanks for your help.



